none
Project 2010 Report Question RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am new to project and I'm using 2010.  I have created a timeline full with many projects (each with multiple tasks).  I am attempting to run a report on some (not all) the projects in my timeline.  Under projects tab I then went to reports, workload and then task usage.  I thought I found the printing option I was looking for (print between specific dates) however no matter how I change these dates I still end up with the full report.  Has anyone ran into this scenario and am I missing something.

Any advice would be a huge help.  Thanks in advance.

Saturday, September 20, 2014 6:24 PM

Answers

• Dave S 360,

Okay, your last post is a bit confusing (i.e. I don't quite follow what it is saying), but at least your screenshot confirms my interpretation of your file structure. Is there a particular reason you opted for manual schedule mode? The manual schedule mode has a lot of "quirks" and is better suited for a user who already has significant experience with Project. It is best used for initial planning without resources to scope out the plan. Once the framework is in place via the manual schedule mode, it is best to then convert to auto-scheduling and create a viable working plan.

So, given the mockup in your screenshot, what is your issue again?

John

• Marked as answer by Dave S 360 Friday, October 10, 2014 7:58 PM
    Sunday, September 28, 2014 2:17 AM
  • Dave S 360,

Okay, time for another lesson in Project terminology. You do not have a master file structure, what you have is a normal hierarchy of summary lines and performance tasks. This is very easy to see if you add the Outline Level field as a column to your view. You can see it visually by the indent level but seeing the actual outline level number should help solidify it in your thinking.