best practices for handlding this database log file growth issue? RRS feed

• Question

• I have a a couple of SQL databases that collect website log files, replicate them to another location, and then flush out the older records every often, so there are a lot of transactions.  The log files are set to unresticted size and grow to several times larger than the database files themselves.  Every so often we need to shrink the log files and they will also release back 99% of their space.

The databases are configured for simple recovery model and they are not backed up (not deemed critial data).  I am not very experienced with SQL and looking for suggestions/best practices on how to handle the situation.  Should we schedule a nigthly job to shink the log files?  Would scheduling a backup job (though not for the purpose of recovery) commit the log files to the MDF files and essentially clear them out?  Any other suggestions?

Tuesday, June 4, 2013 12:10 PM

Answers

• Hallo Wallst,

add storage to your system. If LOG-file expands to this size it means that your workload NEED this size because of large transactions. If you shrink your file you will decrease the performance of your application because with the next run it will be increased again!

Uwe Ricken

MCM SQL Server 2008
    MCSE - SQL Server 2012
    MCSA - SQL Server 2012

db Berater GmbH
    http://www-db-berater.de
    SQL Server Blog (german only)

• Proposed as answer by Fanny Liu Thursday, June 6, 2013 7:13 AM
    • Marked as answer by Fanny Liu Monday, June 10, 2013 7:38 AM
    Tuesday, June 4, 2013 1:25 PM
  • Hi

As Uwe suggested you all the things not to do and increase storage.

But I think there is was also  to slow down the growth of log file by working on ur code. If you process your transaction in small batches sql server can clear log file faster than u fill.

Its like  if you want to run a smooth party with lot of guest you have to call them in small no.s instead all together