Webpart to show siblings from Parent list RRS feed

• Question

• Hello! I am very new to SharePoint, and I am looking for the best way to accomplish a particular task.
    *We are running SP 2013 Foundations. We are planning to license for 2016 Standard before the end of the year.

-We have two lists, one that acts a parent (categories) and one that acts as a child (systems).
    -There is a lookup field in the child list (systems) that links to a list item in the parent (categories).
    -Every system has a category. Multiple systems can belong to a category.

We have a custom page that has other filtered web parts based on a URL parameter binding (system).
    This works wonderful for any lists that match the child item (system).

However, we would like to add a webpart that displays all siblings (any other system that belongs to the same category).

I am not sure how to create a custom query like this within the limitations of SP 2013 Foundations.

Monday, February 20, 2017 5:43 PM

Answers

• Hi Lyndsay T,

You could insert another List web part (systems) to the custom page for showing all related child date that belongs to the same parent item.

Here are the steps for your reference:

1. There are two lists, a parent list called “country”, and another child list called “city”. I have created a custom page and insert the child list “city” called “city [1]”  and a Query String (URL) filter web part into the page. Connect the URL filter web part to “city [1]”. Then I can filter the “city [1]” using the URL filter, as shown in the following image.

2. Add another child list web part called “city [2]” into the page, connect it to “city [1]” and Get filter values from “city [1]” for showing other cities that belongs to the same country.

3. Save the changes.

Then we can get the related cities that belongs to the same country.

Best regards,

Linda Zhang

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help.