none
How do I run Powershell or Batch scripts (locally) from a Task Sequence? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

I am new to MDT 2013 and trying to fully automate my build of Windows 10 (or as much as possible).  To be clear I can't use GPOs since this machine is not networked joined since its going to act as my gold image. Once complete I'll add the automated step to capture back as a WIM and then its completely hands off.  Windows 10 16whatever comes out, I point the TS to that base OS ISO and just re-run since all the configuration is already captures.

To do this -- Essentially I have a TS that creates the base Windows 10 build, but then I have several powershell and command line scripts I want to run after the OS is built.  Where *exactly* do I put this in the Task Sequence sequence, and how do I *exactly* call the scripts?  Part of my issue maybe how I am trying to do this so bear with me.  

After the OS is built I have a script to copy my scripts and related files from $OEM$\$1 to C:\RUNONCE.  In this directory are installation files for Office 2016, Language Packs, etc.  This works perfect.  Its when I try to execute the scripts in C:\RUNONCE from the TS that fails.

For example, What I am *trying* to do is have the task sequence run setup.exe for Office 2016 from the C:\RUNONCE directory instead of installing it over the network from the %DEPLOYMENTSHARE%.  I dont know how to run a local command-line from a TS such as this:

C:\RUNONCE\OFFICE_2016_MUI\setup.exe /config c:\RUNONCE\office_2016_MUI\proplus.ww\config.xml

or 

Powershell –executionpolicy bypass "& 'c:\RUNONCE\win10regKeys.ps1'"

I've tried using cmd /c in front but my sequence always fails at that step.  But I also don't know would this step go post-installation?  After OS install?  

What is the best way to have this stuff run locally from C: drive in a task sequence?  Or is that not possible and I am restricted to installing from the network deployment share

Appreciate it