none
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\system32\MSVCR120.dll

Question

• I am a software developer working with Visual C++, in Visual Studio 2013.  I have VC++ Redist 2013 installed.  I build my release version of my application, PDCalc and then try run it ON MY SYSTEM and I get:

Faulting application name: PDCalc.exe, version: 1.0.0.1, time stamp: 0x56a8e068
    Faulting module name: MSVCR120.dll, version: 12.0.21005.1, time stamp: 0x524f7ce6
    Exception code: 0x40000015
    Fault offset: 0x000a7676
    Faulting process id: 0x18a4
    Faulting application start time: 0x01d15921920814b1
    Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\C2Software\PDCalc\PDCalc.exe
    Faulting module path: C:\Windows\system32\MSVCR120.dll
    Report Id: d147ff31-c514-11e5-b11b-f816546282f6

In all these forums I keep seeing the questioning person be told to uninstall and reinstall the application in question or go back to the application creator (company) for help.  But I am the creator and I am building the release on this system and then trying to run it on this system and I get the MSVCR120.dll error.  Is there ANYTHING anyone can give me for advice?

Wednesday, January 27, 2016 5:06 PM

Answers

• I found the fix for this issue on my own (and incidentally, it is not "my code" per se).  The code for my program was using:

//// Parse command line for standard shell commands, DDE, file open
    CCommandLineInfo cmdInfo;
    ParseCommandLine(cmdInfo);

if (cmdInfo.m_bRunEmbedded || cmdInfo.m_bRunAutomated)
    {
    return TRUE;
    }

//// Dispatch commands specified on the command line
    if (!ProcessShellCommand(cmdInfo))
    {
    return FALSE;
    }

To handle command line arguments.  In prior versions of C++ Redists this worked.  But with 2013 Redsit the ProcessShellCommand function was failing when cmdInfo had nothing.  The answer was to wrap that if statement with a check for the existence of a shell command for File New: