none
Remote Connection not working RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, 

I am a mechanical engineering student and I need to use Solidworks (a program) to complete tasks. This program costs a lot so my university provides us some Remote connection to their computers who own versions of this program.

For some reason, the remote connection is not working on this laptop.

This laptop is a Toshiba Tecra with Windows 7 64-Bit, 8 Gb of RAM and Intel i7-2640 2.80GHz.

When I try to connect I get the following error:

" You're computer can't connect to the remote computer because the Remote Desktop Gateway server is temporarily unavailable.    Try reconnecting later or contact your network administrator for assistance. "

I need you people's help! For the moment I am using my Macbook Pro or home built gaming desktop, but it's very inconvenient. I have tried a lot of things but nothing worked, so I guess I will start back step by step.

Thursday, February 14, 2019 4:13 PM

All replies

• hi,
    1 from your description ,you want to use laptop(Toshiba tecra) to remote connect to the computer which is installed solidworks , is it true?
    2 do you set the RD gateway server name correctly ?
    [because if you in university network ,you can bypass RD gateway and connect to computer which is installed solidworks .However,if you at home ,you can not bypass RD gateway and connect to computer which is installed solidworks.  ]
    3 If you turn off the firewall temporarily on laptop(Toshiba tecra) , is the issue persist ? like picture 2
    Control Panel\System and Security\Windows Firewall\Customize Settings  --->firewall 

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help.
    If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

Friday, February 15, 2019 9:56 AM