Beginners PerformancePoint Questions RRS feed

• Question

•  

Hi All,

I'm completely new to PerformancePoint so please bear with me. I have a number of questions regarding delving into PerformancePoint and knowing its capabilities.

Firstly, I'm looking to pull KPI's already defined in Analysis services into PerformancePoint and use them to build up a scorecard. I'm assuming that this is fairly straight forward and is just a matter of adding KPI's from an OLAP source pointing to my analysis cube. Is it possible to drill through to a document or a reporting services report when clicking on a specific KPI? If so is this done from the drill through actions in Analysis services or can this be done in PerformancePoint itself?

Ideally i want to be able to link to a PDF document held in a SharePoint document library and more specifically point to a specific section dependant on the KPI that was clicked.

Has anyone done anything similar and if so could they provide me with some help as to how to get under way with this,

All help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

G

Wednesday, May 14, 2008 2:26 PM

Answers

• You can implement a hyperlink from one KPI to another web page which could be another dashboard and include charts/grids/scorecards.  To implement this see the following post:

http://blogs.msdn.com/performancepoint/archive/2007/10/05/implementing-a-hyperlink-from-a-kpi-in-a-scorecard.aspx

You can drag members to either the rows or the columns - do drag your departments out to the columns or rows and then drag the KPIs to the rows/cols.  The one strange behavior is that the KPI name and the Actual/Target values must reside on opposite axis, so if KPI Name is on Rows, Actual/Target must be on columns.  If KPI Name is on Cols, Actual/Target must be on Rows.  Not ideal I know, but we are fixing this for v2.

Hope this helps.

Alyson

Thursday, May 15, 2008 3:27 PM

All replies