none
Error enabling phone sign-in - "Something went wrong. Please try again later." RRS feed

• Question

• I belong to two organizations.  I am a global administrator of both.  I'm trying to set up the Authenticator app for phone sign-in on my primary organization and all I receive is the error mentioned in the title and in the screenshot below.

If I remove my device from the workplace registration of my primary organization and set up phone sign-in on my secondary organization, it works just fine.  When I remove my device from my secondary organization and try to set up phone sign-in on my primary organization, it errors with this again.

That would tell me that it's a setting somewhere in my AAD or O365, but I have no idea what to look for.  I've submitted the logs on Incident ID XGQ497HZ if anyone with access to that can look it up.

Monday, May 1, 2017 4:01 PM

All replies

• Hi

For now, sign-in function is only supported Microsoft account. Please refer to this FAQ.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/azure/multi-factor-authentication/end-user/microsoft-authenticator-app-phone-signin-faq#faq

You could not enable sign-in function for AAD accounts.

Regards,

Walter

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help.
    If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

Wednesday, May 3, 2017 3:04 AM
  • I received a message (rss feed somewhere, I can't find it now of course) that org accounts are now set up for this, so that's why I was trying it.  I'm also to configure phone sign-in with my other AAD account in my other organization.  I just don't have a workstation to sign into on that organization as I'm just the O365/SharePoint administrator.  here's some successful screenshots setting it up for my other org account.

Thursday, May 4, 2017 9:51 PM
  • I have encountered the same.  While this post is old, the issue is very much alive.  I've attempted several times to work with Office 365 support to no avail.