none
Hyper-V on Windows Server 2016 and Microsoft Hyper-V Server 2016, difference

Question

• hi, experts, I am totally new to server knowledge

I found that there are versions of Hyper-V.

Hyper-V on Windows Server 2016

and Microsoft Hyper-V Server 2016

by what cases, I should select Microsoft Hyper-V Server 2016 to install? blade server? and create VM? am I correct?

by what cases, I should select Hyper-V on Windows Server 2016 ? 

further, inside VM in blade server? do I need to install Hyper-V for replication, failover to configure? etc?

thank you very much!

delaynomore

delaynomore.

Saturday, March 4, 2017 5:47 AM

Answers

• Hi,

Hyper-V server standalone --> Hyper-V Server is a dedicated stand-alone product that contains the hypervisor, Windows Server driver model, virtualization capabilities, and supporting components such as failover clustering, but does not contain the robust set of features and roles as the Windows Server operating system. When you install Hyper-V standalone server you will need to administer it remotelly because there is no GUI. It looks like server core .People usually install this to reduce reboots and attack surface.

Second thing why people choose hyper-v stand alone is because of licensing. It is free but you will need to have license for VMs that you will be running on top of the hypervisor. 

Hyper-V role on WIndows server --> when you install it you will get all of the cool roles and features that you can install on the host machine but when it comes right down to it we generally keep the hosts as clean as possible from running additional workloads outside of Hyper-V.

Second thing is licensing. When you install full gui server and enable hyper-v role you will be able to license 2 VM which will run on that host with Standard and unlimited with Datacenter. What I mean by that is that you will be able to use host license to license VMs