3rd Party Patching RRS feed

• Question

• Looking for some compare and contrast from people familiar with 3rd Party Patching venders.  I have been running our ConfigManager Environment for 3 years now after migrating from a really bad Competing Product (Client Automation).  My Information Assurance group has recently decided that we are not reactive enough or fast enough with third party patch so management is considering 3rd Party Patching addons suchs as Skavlik and Solar Winds Patch manager or other competing Products like IBM Endpoint Manager (BigFix) and Dell KACE.

So my question is if you have used any of these;
    what was the Catalog like, and how well did the patches preform?
    What was the cost (guestiment)
    Anything special that you liked (or didn't like ) about the product?

I'm trying to build a good/competitive case and make a well informed decision, I'm attempting to download and play with as many of these as I can, but as I'm sure most of you know... It takes time which is something we lack a great deal of.

Thanks in advanced for any input and/or opinions!

Friday, October 10, 2014 3:15 AM

Answers

• I'll mention the ones I know about which integrate with either SCUP, or with your top level SUP (without technically using SCUP)--in alphabetical order so no one can say I ordered them in any specific way:

PatchMyPC.Net

Secunia

Shavlik

SolarWinds

All will scan.  All will patch.  At this exact moment in time (like everything else, 1 product will leapfrog over another from time to time); Secunia seems to offer the most features.  Cost-wise, there are usually price breaks when you have higher client counts, so giving you a guesstimate of cost isn't going to be relevant.  Your best bet is to submit a request for quote to each of the above if one of your main parameters is "cheapest", not "best".