none
Installing Drivers Issue with MDT 8450, Windows 10 v1803, and OptiPlex 7060 Intel i7 8th Gen Processor RRS feed

• Question

• Good morning all,

I have been managing an MDT server for several years now. Within my task sequence, I set the DriverGroup001 variable (to "Windows 10\%Make%\%Model%") so MDT automatically handles driver installs. I use the Set Task Sequence Variable for this. For drivers, I download and import the CAB file from the Dell Enterprise CAB site. I have my Drivers folder organized. Windows 10 is the parent folder. Then, I have folders with the make name. And within those folders, I have the model folders. My task sequence has worked great for several models. I've installed Windows 10 on the OptiPlex 7050, OptiPlex 5250 AIO, Precision 7720, Latitude E6230, and Latitude 3379 to name a few models. Now, we have the OptiPlex 7060 and MDT imports the drivers as expected. However, once the computer restarts and goes into Windows, I get the message, "Cannot connect to deployment share". I turned on the shell for troubleshooting. I look at the Device Manager and see that MDT missed a lot of drivers, the network driver being amongst them. I can manually install the drivers. I can browse the C:\ drive and Windows finds the drivers. So, they are on the computer. After I install the drivers, I can click Retry on the error message that pops up and my deployment completes successfully. My initial thought is that there needs to be some delay because MDT is moving too fast through the process and not allowing the drivers to get installed. I remember reading a post about MDT and faster hardware, but I have not found it again. I do not mind editing the VBS script files and adding a pause. But, I am not quite sure if that would help or where I would add the pause. I also wanted to post and see if anyone else came across similar issues with the newer hardware. I'm scratching my head wondering why everything works on other models, but not our newest one. I appre