Password Update Feature from ADFS (Windows Server 2012 R2) not working RRS feed

• Question

• Hello, this is my first time posting in the forum and I have a few questions, but first let me describe my environment first.

I have a pair of High Availability ADFS server as a login proxy for users in my Hybrid Office 365. sometimes the user need to reset a password from ADFS portal, something like sts.hostname.com.

Right now they cannot reset the password, because it always said "something went wrong, please contact the administrator."

the error was recorded in error event, when i trace the log, i found out that the ADFS was still using ldap to an old DC server.

11/07 16:11:42 [CRITICAL] [9252] NetpDcGetDcNext: _ldap._tcp.PUSAT._sites.oldserver.com.: Cannot Query DNS. 9002 0x232a
    11/07 16:11:42 [CRITICAL] [9252] NetpDcGetNameIp: oldserver.com: No data returned from DnsQuery.
    11/07 16:11:42 [MISC] [9252] NetpDcGetName: NetpDcGetNameIp for oldserver.com returned 1355
    11/07 16:11:42 [CRITICAL] [9252] NetpDcGetName: oldserver.com: IP and Netbios are both done.
    11/07 16:11:42 [MISC] [9252] DsGetDcName function returns 1355 (client PID=12268): Dom:oldserver.com Acct:(null) Flags: LDAPONLY RET_DNS 
    11/07 16:11:42 [SITE] [9252] DsrGetSiteName: Site name 'PUSAT' is old. Getting a new one from DC.

now the problem are, the old DC server was already inactive, and it was from a different forest.
    I am quite confused, because every pointing from ADFS was already set and configured to the new forest (newserver.com) but it still try to find the old ldap server (dns, etc).
    Does anybody experience the same issue? And how to resolve that?
    Thanks you

Tuesday, January 7, 2020 8:33 AM

All replies

• It is not a password RESET. It is a password UPDATE. It's important because those are two very different ways to set a password :)