none
FAILURE ( 7706 ): ERROR! Drive D: was not found! RRS feed

• Question

• I was wondering if anybody run into this issue and could point me in the right direction.

I have been using MDT for over 4 years and last week was the first time that I have ever seen this "FAILURE ( 7706 ): ERROR! Drive D: was not found!" message. I'm running a MDT 2013 deployment server with AIK 8.1 and this error occured while imaging a Surface Pro 3.

We successfully imaged about  +10 Surface's with this MDT build however they all had 128GB SSD's and and 4GB of RAM this one that failed has a 256GB SSD and 8GB of RAM and the issue was replicated on another Surface with the exact same specs.

So far I have;

1) Tried another Surface Pro 3 of the same SKU and it had the exact same issue.

2) Successfully imaged this Surface with Windows 10 and with the Windows 8.1 Pro Surface Pro 3 recover image from Microsoft using USB media.

3) Updated my deployment share to MDT 2013 Update 1 and AIK 10 and tried both the original MDT 2013 standard deployment Task Sequence and the updated MDT 2013 standard deployment Task Sequence both modified for Surface Pro 3 (Driver Firmware, patches etc...)

4) Updated the Surface Pro 3 driver set with the very latest drivers but I noticed that even the latest drivers still uses the Intel ahci 8 driver from 2013 that the worked fine on the other 128GB SSD 4GB RAM Surface Pro 3 SKU's that we imaged before.

When looking at the BDD.log I can see that SSD drive is successfully cleared of any existing partition but it fails to create any partitions and after it fails in WinPE if you manually run Diskpart no drives seems to be available even though driver for the storage controller should still be loaded.

I have done a lot of research and I have found similar issues but none of the solution suggested has solved this issue and I'm running out of things to try.

Here are some of the Logs Files, let me know if any others are required;