none
KMS client cannot find KMS Host RRS feed

• Question

• Hey guys, kms noob here so go easy,

I'm trying to set up a KMS system in an environment I've just walked into, so far I've installed the host, KMS host key, and have found about 26 computers running on the workgroup using VAMT 2.0.
    All computers have installed MAK keys.  I am asked to switch all machines over to KMS today, but before I do that, is there anything I need to do last second?  My count on KMS is still 0 computers, through the cmd, but using VAMT I can see more than 25, when I try and activate a computer by KMS it gives me an error "The Software Licensing Service reported that the computer could not be activated. No Key Management Service (KMS) could be contacted"  I am wondering, when I switch all 25 computers over to a KMS key and then attempt to KMS activate them all, will this error go away?  I do not want to switch over all 25 keys and lose the MAK keys if the KMS system isn't configured properly.  I can see the network information and port and my domain through the KMS so it seems to be working fine. Also, do I need a group policy setting to allow the KMS to reach a client, or should this already be configured? I have only changed the firewall settings on the KMS Host, which is running Windows 7.

Any information would be greatly appreciated,

Thanks.

Monday, January 17, 2011 11:07 PM

Answers

• Hello Alienwalker,

What is the exact error message and string that you are getting?   Are they all on the same network?

How many DNS servers?

Use nslookup from the KMS client machine that is failing to check if DNS is reporting the KMS host name

nslookup -type=srv _vlmcs._tcp

Thanks, Darrell Gorter This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights. VAMT - Volume Activation Management Tool - Download link http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=ec7156d2-2864-49ee-bfcb-777b898ad582&displaylang=en
    Tuesday, January 18, 2011 5:28 PM

All replies