How to enable connectivity logs on Exchange 2013 EDGE server RRS feed

• Question

• Hello guys,

I'm in need of your assistance. I'm not very good with Exchange and I need to fix some things.

I'm not sure what is wrong but I don't have connectivity logs on my Exchange 2013 EDGE server. Newest log is from 19.10.2015. and location is C:\Program Files\Microsoft\Exchange Server\V15\TransportRoles\Logs\Edge\Connectivity.

I think, it stopped logging when I turned on protocol logging on my Exchange Mailbox server.

My problem is, that I can't find logs that are produced when someone is connecting to my MX by telnet and trying to send a message. We were testing some thing and we had a situation, when we connected by telnet, provided all necessary info and started writing a message, suddenly connection was lost. I need to find log of that so I can check what is a problem.

Here is what we did by telnet:

220 EXEDGE.server.pl Microsoft ESMTP MAIL Service ready at Wed, 20 Apr 2016 09:26:12 +0200

ehlo proximus

250-EXEDGE.server.pl Hello [194.78.2.94]

250-SIZE 36700160

250-DSN

250-ENHANCEDSTATUSCODES

250-STARTTLS

250-X-ANONYMOUSTLS

250-X-EXPS NTLM

250-8BITMIME

250-BINARYMIME

250-CHUNKING

250-XEXCH50

250 XSHADOW

mail from: someone@server2.be

250 2.1.0 Sender OK

rcpt to: someoneelse@server.pl

250 2.1.5 Recipient OK

data

test spearit

Connection to host lost.

It dropper connection when I expected "mail queued for delivery" message.If you need any additional info, please just ask.

Any help would be appreciated.

Have a nice day.

Adi

Wednesday, April 20, 2016 8:47 AM

Answers

• It should be in message tracking.

If you are looking for SMTP protocol logs, those are located at:

\\Program Files\Microsoft\Exchange Server\V15\TransportRoles\Logs\Edge\ProtocolLog

You can enable those:

https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb124531(v=exchg.150).aspx