Newbie PowerShell Questions RRS feed

• Question

• Hello All,

I'm a database administrator and after attending several sessions on PowerShell for DBAs on the latest convention I attended (SQL PASS), I decided to adopt PowerShell and I'm starting to use this for some of my daily tasks.

I'm a complete newbie, so bear with me.

Currently, I'm looking for a way to get Cluster related information from the 7 clusters I manage.

My goal is to create a script that will pull information from clusters after our patching/outage weekend. The information from this script will be stored in a database and presented over SSRS (SQL Server Reporting Services). The report should tell us what node of the cluster own which resources so we can move resources around.

I think the Get-Cluster* cmdlets will provide me the information I need. I'm just having trouble executing them, storing them and passing different values to them. Can you guys help me out?

First, I need to be able to execute the Get-Cluter commands. I can only do that from a cluster. Why is that? Can I run this command from a server that is not a cluster? Do I need to install anything on my Win 2008 R2 box?

I also need to be able to pass a server name to my command. This way I can loop through a list of server names.

I need to store the results in a file temporarily before loading them to a database table.

Issues that I'm having:

I can't get to import the FailoverClusters module. Perhaps because I don't have the Cluster Feature installed? I'm running this from a VM, so I can't install a cluster on a VM. There a way to install something that will allow me to run the Get-Cluster commandlets?

PS V:\> Import-Module FailoverClusters
    Import-Module : The specified module 'FailoverClusters' was not loaded because no valid module file was found in any mo
    dule directory.
    At line:1 char:14
    + Import-Module <<<<  FailoverClusters