none
disable the resource usage view. RRS feed

  • Question

  • Being an administrator . how to lock or disable the Ms Project Professional 2010 "Resource Usage" View that nobody can enter or change the hours of any task from resource usage view or any other view from ms project professional 2010.


    • Edited by John.Eddie Wednesday, August 22, 2012 5:54 AM
    Wednesday, August 22, 2012 5:54 AM

All replies

  • Hi John,

    I assume that you want to stop people updating the actual hours field in Project Pro and only have the hours users enter in their tasks page progress plans? If this is correct, enable the "Only allow task updates via Tasks and Timesheets" option on the Task Settings and Display menu on the server settings page in PWA:

    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/gg982960.aspx

    Taken from the link above:

    To prevent the project manager from updating a team member's actual time worked, select the Only allow task updates via Tasks and Timesheets check box.

    Thanks

    Paul


    Paul Mather | Twitter | http://pwmather.wordpress.com

    • Marked as answer by John.Eddie Wednesday, August 22, 2012 7:01 AM
    • Unmarked as answer by John.Eddie Wednesday, August 22, 2012 7:13 AM
    Wednesday, August 22, 2012 6:51 AM
    Moderator
  • but when I enter change the hours of actual work and work . it can stop me after saving your changing will be lost .

    it is ok.

    But on the right side . It is calculating in the WORK column. and it is not UNDO or lost.

    Why ?

    Wednesday, August 22, 2012 7:15 AM
  • Can you force a recalculation in the project - press F9.

    Thanks

    Paul


    Paul Mather | Twitter | http://pwmather.wordpress.com

    Wednesday, August 22, 2012 7:24 AM
    Moderator
  • Sorry not right side .

    Left side of the project professional 2010 Resource Usage View.


    • Edited by John.Eddie Wednesday, August 22, 2012 7:26 AM
    Wednesday, August 22, 2012 7:25 AM
  • So the actual hours you manually enter after enabling "Only allow task updates via Tasks and Timesheets" are not removed after the prompt? Does F9 remove them? Close and reopen the project, are they removed then?

    Thanks

    Paul


    Paul Mather | Twitter | http://pwmather.wordpress.com

    Wednesday, August 22, 2012 7:27 AM
    Moderator
  • No it is not removed from the left side of the project professional 2010 .

    Here Work is showing 454 hours and Remaining work is showing 451 hours. which must be lost at the time of saving.

    Wednesday, August 22, 2012 7:34 AM
  • Has that resource submitted 3 hours actual work on the Wednesday? Was this added before you enabled the "Only allow task updates via Tasks and Timesheets" option?  If you Sync to Project actuals is all updated correctly? This functionality works fine on my environment, see the steps to test below:

    1. Enable  "Only allow task updates via Tasks and Timesheets"
    2. Create a new test project with a task/s, build team and assign resource x to the task/s
    3. Save the project
    4. Add actual work to the task
    5. At that point a warning is displayed: "Your action may result in actuals in this project becoming out of synch..." - this is correct
    6. Click OK
    7. Now click Save again
    8. At this point a second message will appear: "The Actual work in "Project xxxx" is out of synch with the actual work updated from timesheets. Actaul work can only be updated by team members through Project Web App. Changes you have made to users' actual work will be lost during the save. Do you want to continue and save this project?"
    9. Click Yes
    10. At this point the manually added actual work added (step 4) after the first save (step 3) will be correctly removed and the project will save.

    Thanks

    Paul


    Paul Mather | Twitter | http://pwmather.wordpress.com

    Wednesday, August 22, 2012 7:58 AM
    Moderator
  • you are saying correct . all this happen.

    I entered 222 hours on the right side of one task actual work.

    and on the left side of this task work value has changed from 8 hours to 222 hours.

    but when project is saving the right side value has been lost and undo . but left side work value is not changing from 222 to 8 hours.

    Wednesday, August 22, 2012 9:42 AM
  • Are you able to replicate this in more than one project? What patch level is your server and client? I cant replicate this on my environment.

    Thanks

    Paul


    Paul Mather | Twitter | http://pwmather.wordpress.com

    Wednesday, August 22, 2012 9:45 AM
    Moderator
  • I have installed

    SP1 and Feb 2012 CU of project server 2010.

    DEC 2011 CU of Ms Project Professional 2010.

    Wednesday, August 22, 2012 9:54 AM
  • Wednesday, August 22, 2012 10:14 AM
  • If I understand you correctly, the reason you are seeing this is because adding an actual work value higher than the planned work value in the project plan will correctly increase the planned work value, in this example to 22 hours (from 8 hours). Enabling the "Only allow task updates via Tasks and Timesheets" option will only remove actual work that is not in sync with the timesheets, it will not update planned work / reset the planned work to the original value, in this case 8 hours.

    Test again entering any value less than the planned work value.

    Thanks

    Paul


    Paul Mather | Twitter | http://pwmather.wordpress.com

    Wednesday, August 22, 2012 10:42 AM
    Moderator
  • If I enter 5 hours less than planned work.

    than same behaviour which I describe before.

    on the left side the work value of this task has been changed into 5 hours.

    and during save only right side value is restored. not the value of left side.

    It is changed to 5 hours.

    Wednesday, August 22, 2012 11:05 AM
  • I cannot replicate this behaviour you are seeing. Can you replicate this everytime with all projects?

    Thanks

    Paul


    Paul Mather | Twitter | http://pwmather.wordpress.com

    Wednesday, August 22, 2012 11:16 AM
    Moderator
  • John.Eddie,

    It is also highly recommended that you keep the patch level of your client and server software at the same level. As many patches span both products, failure to keep this software level synchronization may lead to other issues.

    Treb Gatte @tgatte

    Wednesday, August 22, 2012 12:54 PM
    Moderator