Windows 2012 Essentials to Windows 2016 Essentials Connector/Profile Issue RRS feed

• Question

• I have been running WSE 2012 for about 5 years. The hardware is beginning to get a little old, so I have built a WSE 2016 machine. On one of my Windows 10 machines that had been connected to WSE 2012, I uninstalled the connector. Brought the WSE 2016 machine up and ran the connector software on the machine that once had been connected to WSE 2012. That machine shows up in the dashboard of WSE 2016.

When I looked at the client machine after the connector install, I had a new profile with .000. For example, username/domain_name now shows as username/domain_name.000. So I now have a blank desktop - none of my applications are there. Is there a special procedure that needs to be used on a client that was connected to one server with the connector software and is now connected to a different one where I can keep all my applications?

Thanks

Tuesday, January 23, 2018 1:16 PM

Answers

• I found a program online from a company called Forensit. The utility is called Profile Wizard and it allowed me, using a couple of mouse clicks and asking for the Domain I should be on and the name of the profile to copy my profile in about 20 seconds.

I have successfully finished, just today, in migrating the old profiles to my new machines. Of course, I did need to take programs that looked for its data files and changed it to the new server name, but it was a pretty painless process and it turned out to be a great utility.

Gene

• Marked as answer by Gene Estep Friday, February 9, 2018 6:08 AM
    Friday, February 9, 2018 6:08 AM

All replies

• Hi,

According to your description, my understanding is that you want to keep domain user account profile after migrating from WSE2012 to WSE2016.

Domain user account logs on client OS using new user profile when re-join Essentials domain. If this problem only happens on specific client/user account, you can consider of manually editing it.