TMG - Reverse proxy certificate mismatch RRS feed

• Question

• I have the web site rule set up but I am getting a certificate mismatch error. I have setup the rule using this walkthrough:  http://microsoftguru.com.au/2010/08/08/how-to-configure-reverse-proxy-using-forefront-tmg-2010-step-by-step/ (I'm aware of the typos)

As a test I have already established a working rule without using https and that seems to work fine. I am somewhat new to TMG and SSL/Certs so it could be that there is something wrong with my certs. I am using a server in my domain as a CA (Win2003) and I have not had issues with other internal sites.

This is a test environment. It is more of a proof of concept before we go into production so the domain CA should not be an issue. That is, if I have it setup correctly.

IE8 simply tells me "Mismatched Address" but Firefox tells me

The certificate is not trusted because no issuer chain was provided.
    The certificate is only valid for webserver.domain

(Error code: sec_error_unknown_issuer)

When I go to webserver.domain in IE it comes up with no errors or warnings but in firefox I get

The certificate is not trusted because no issuer chain was provided.
    (Error code: sec_error_unknown_issuer)

I imported the webserver cert into the Personal store of the TMG server and my internal CA is in my Trusted Root Certification Authorities. Other than that, I am not familiar enough with certs to know what I am missing.

I read something about having the client install the cert but when this goes to production there will be hundreds of users so I don't know if that will be an option.
    • Edited by ncwang Wednesday, September 26, 2012 8:08 PM
    Wednesday, September 26, 2012 8:08 PM

Answers