Error message on startup RRS feed

• Question

• I have a new Tosiba laptop running Windows 7 Home Premium. When I set it up I entered my name as the user name and no password. This meant that when starting the computer up, I went straight into my desktop, without being prompted to click on an icon or enter a password.

Suddenly, something really odd has happened. As soon as the computer powers up and the animated Windows logo has settled, I am presented with a 'Welcome' screen from which the word "Welcome" immediately vanishes, to be replaced by the error message "Incorrect username or password". But I have not entered either! I don't get a chance. Now I have to 'switch user' to myself, and enter a blank password in order to get to my desktop.

No one has ever used this computer except me, but it is on a local network of 3 computers (I am a computer professional, working from home.) Maybe something has gone wrong on the network? Either way, I would like to get rid of this annoying behviour. I am a qualified computer professional and have been working with the registry since Microsoft first introduced it some 20 years ago. So I am quite happy to change some settings if someone will tell me what they may be.

Sunday, November 21, 2010 9:07 AM

Answers

• Hi,

I conclude that this is an unusual problem.

Did you install any software or change any settings when you finish your new installation? Try system restore to see what the result is.

For a test, you could perform a Clean Boot to check how it works.

Try creating a new user account to test. How it works?

If this issue persists, you could try the small tool:

Autologon

Hope it helps.

Alex Zhao

Please remember to click “Mark as Answer” on the post that helps you, and to click “Unmark as Answer” if a marked post does not actually answer your question. This can be beneficial to other community members reading the thread.
    • Marked as answer by Cloud_TS Friday, December 3, 2010 3:15 AM