Wallpaper issues RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, this is my first time installing this on one of our public computers.  I am having an issue with the wallpaper staying.  I set it to the wallpaper I want and when I come back into the user profile it is back to no wallpaper.  I even unlocked everything in SteadyState, set the account as an admin and tried resetting the wallpaper and once I leave the profile and come back in, it's back to no wallpaper.  Please tell me how to get a wallpaper to stay on the user account.
    Saturday, July 14, 2007 3:32 PM

Answers

• Hey Joshua,

I ran into the same problem with the old MSCT. Try using a BMP image instead of a JPG. Ever since I started using BMP's, no more problems with desktop wallparer.

Sunday, July 15, 2007 4:12 PM
  • Yes, Eparico is right.

Based on my experiences, sometimes JPG wallpaper will not appear.

By default windows changes any wallpaper to bmp format and loads it.

This happens because while JPG's can be used as the desktop background, they are not used in JPEG format. Instead, normally, you select the JPEG and windows converts that to a Windows Bitmap and stores the converted image at %userprofile%\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft\Wallpaper1.bmp.

To resolve this, use a bitmap (either one that is already a BMP or open the JPEG in Microsoft Paint and save it as a bitmap file)

If the problem persists, please check the following:

1. Can you see %userprofile%\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft\Wallpaper1.bmp?

2. Create a new user, will the same issue occur?
    Tuesday, July 17, 2007 10:26 AM

All replies

• Hey Joshua,

I ran into the same problem with the old MSCT. Try using a BMP image instead of a JPG. Ever since I started using BMP's, no more problems with desktop wallparer.

Sunday, July 15, 2007 4:12 PM
  • Yes, Eparico is right.

Based on my experiences, sometimes JPG wallpaper will not appear.

By default windows changes any wallpaper to bmp format and loads it.