none
POWER BI - Get data from sharepoint (file in folder on sharepoint) RRS feed

• Question

• Hello all,

I'm new to power BI, please bare with me:) 

I am working a .pbix on Power BI Desktop and want to connect POWER BI to get data directly from our sharepoint. 

I am follwing these steps here: 

https://social.technet.microsoft.com/wiki/contents/articles/40040.power-bi-two-way-to-get-data-from-sharepoint-list-library.aspx    - the "Get SharePoint List/Library Using SharePoint List Connection" . 

THe thing is the file I need is inside a folder on the sharepoint.  I can see the list of contents of the sharepoint, I can see that specific folder inside the query, I filter out all other rows showing other folders/items I don;t need to import but I can't figure out how to access the content of this folder.  Can you help here ?

Thanks!

CHeers,

Friday, November 9, 2018 12:53 PM

Answers

All replies

• Hi MihneaN. Have you tried doing Get Data -> SharePoint Folder (rather than SharePoint List)?

Ehren

Friday, November 9, 2018 8:52 PM
    Owner
  • Hi Ehren,

I have tried but I'm doing something wrong when entering the address in Get Data->From Folder : "The folder path must be a valid absolute file path." Can you help, please? 

Thanks

Wednesday, November 21, 2018 10:44 AM
  • Hi there. Look for "SharePoint Folder", not "Folder".

Ehren

Wednesday, November 21, 2018 5:59 PM
    Owner
  • Hi Ehren,

I tried with "Sharepoint Folder" but got the below:

"We encountered an error while trying to connect.

Details: "Microsoft.Mashup.Engine1.Library.Resources.HttpResource: Request failed: 
    OData Version: 3 and 4, Error: The remote server returned an error: (404) Not Found. (Not Found)
    OData Version: 4, Error: The remote server returned an error: (404) Not Found. (Not Found)
    OData Version: 3, Error: The remote server returned an error: (404) Not Found. (Not Found)"