none
Adding background to left pane on Sharepoint online. RRS feed

• Question

• We have recently migrated from SharePoint 2013 to SharePoint online. On the old sharepoint page the left and top navigation panes had a blue background. But we lost that when we went to sharepoint online. Unfortunately the person who set up the original sharepoint a few years ago is no longer here and I am fairly new to this. I am assuming it's somewhere in the settings but I don't know where to look. Any help would be appreciated. ALSO - how can I get rid of the "Site Content" option on the left pane? It is not in the navigation list under site settings so I can't hide it.

Old SharePoint:

New SharePoint online:

Friday, May 15, 2020 2:04 PM

Answers

• Hi

The UI of your old SharePoint seems like customized by CSS, so you cannot recover it to the same as it was unless you find the CSS contents.

I don't think hide the Site contents link is necessary, but if you want, you can simply click edit link and remove it. The url is '/_layouts/15/viewlsts.aspx' so you can add it back when you need it.

Justin Liu Office Apps & Services MVP, MCSE
    Senior Software Engineer
    Learn Microsoft 365 from Microsoft DOCs now!
    Please Vote and Mark as Answer if it helps you.

Monday, May 18, 2020 1:58 AM

All replies

• Hi

The UI of your old SharePoint seems like customized by CSS, so you cannot recover it to the same as it was unless you find the CSS contents.

I don't think hide the Site contents link is necessary, but if you want, you can simply click edit link and remove it. The url is '/_layouts/15/viewlsts.aspx' so you can add it back when you need it.

Justin Liu Office Apps & Services MVP, MCSE
    Senior Software Engineer
    Learn Microsoft 365 from Microsoft DOCs now!
    Please Vote and Mark as Answer if it helps you.

Monday, May 18, 2020 1:58 AM
  • Hi J-Bal,

You can remove items by clicking 'edit links' button: