Font Rendering in Word 2016 RRS feed

• Question

• I love MS Word and, as a writer, I use it every day. But I am at the end of my tether with the poor quality of all the fonts onscreen. My exasperation reached a new high today when I opened WordPad for the first time and saw that the same fonts and words look SO MUCH BETTER in that little freebie! It's not good for my eyesight to be staring at bad font rendering for so long. But why should I compromise by using WordPad when I've paid a subscription for Office 365?

I can't be the only one with this problem, so please can someone give me the answer or even a workaround (not using WordPad! :-)

Looking forward to your responses. Thanks!

• Moved by Alice-Wang Tuesday, January 30, 2018 2:18 AM move to proper forum
    Monday, January 29, 2018 6:40 PM

All replies

• Hi,

Because your issue is more related to Word, our forum is focus on Microsoft Teams, so I will move this question to Word forum, there are more experts will help you with this issue, thanks for your understanding and support.

Best Regards,
    Alice Wang

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they helped. If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnsf@microsoft.com.

Click here to learn more. Visit the dedicated forum to share, explore and talk to experts about Microsoft Teams.

Tuesday, January 30, 2018 2:20 AM
  • What you have described is not typical of Word.

Do you have Clear Type activated in the Windows Control Panel?
    Do you have hardware graphics acceleration turned on in Word?
    What fonts are you using?
    What Word display mode are you using?
    Does it make a difference if you run Word in Safe mode (i.e. depress the Ctrl key while starting Word)?
    Do you have the same font display issues in other Office apps (e.g. Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook)?