none
custom field look-up table created in local project is missing when opening in project server RRS feed

• General discussion

• Hi,

I have a MSP project schedule vreted outside the MSP server 2010. When I open my file in server all my custome field is becomes blank and rename to text. Please I'm new with the MSP server and I tried creating the same custom field in the server by still, getting the same issue. Need help...

Monday, April 23, 2012 5:48 PM

All replies

•  

Hi there,

If you create lookup table and custom fields created via Project pro are treated as local (specific to the project plan). Local custom fields will not be available if you try to create another project plan connected to the server.

To achieve your requirement, you need to create custom fields on Project server referred as Enterprise Custom field"

Navigate to PWA>>Server Settings >>Enterprise Custom Fields and Lookup Tables

Close Project Pro and re-launch connecting to PWA instance.

Kindly refer following article for more details

Enterprise Custom Fields and Lookup Tables (Project Server 2010)

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/gg709725.aspx

Hrishi Deshpande – DeltaBahn Senior Consultant
    Blog | < | LinkedIn

Monday, April 23, 2012 6:45 PM
  • Hi Hrishi,

I created a Enterprise custom field and inserted into my MSP, then save my MSP into Local. When I open the MSP in local my drop down custom field is blank.

We usually check-out the schedule for update in the work site and check-in in Project Server once the progress and changes made.

I need advise on how to make the look up custom field available both in Local and Enterprise (server).

Thanks,

Joe

Friday, April 27, 2012 3:17 PM
  • when you save project plan locally using save as option , select save project with option as "all enterprise custom fields and global items (larger file size)