none
Establishing a Trust RRS feed

• Question

• Some background...

I am a Microsoft Architect that was very recently brought on a regional MSP.  Although I have over a decade in Active Directory admin and design, this is my first foray into the MSP world so apologies if I initially do not make sense.

My first project is to figure out a resolution to an issue that the company has recently come across.  Here you'll find a Visual Reference to the text below.

Using the visual as a reference, our dilemma is this: How do we create a trust between the MSP domain and Customer B WHEN either of the following is true:

1 - Customer B controlled site is using same IP address space as the MSP domain.

OR

2 - Customer B controlled site is using same IP address space as Customer A.

This creates a routing problem. Assuming the MSP manages domain controllers for the customer at the MSP site, we can solve this problem if the Customer is willing to temporarily move the PDC role to the managed DC. However, when the customer is NOT willing to move the role, we cannot route back to the customer controlled site to establish the trust.

We have developed a work-around by creating a direct SSL VPN from the customer PDC to our management PDC that allows us to do the necessary but it requires the customer to be willing to work with us and screen share on their PDC. Hokey I know but it works. 

We are looking for a more permanent solution. I find it hard to believe we are the only ones that have come across this problem. Thank you in advance for any insight you may have. Again, please remember, I did not design the network nor control the customer setup process. I'm just an architect given this problem to rectify.

Monday, May 20, 2013 3:56 PM

Answers