Using Powershell to open xlsm, enter password, run macro, save and close.... RRS feed

• Question

• Hello

I'm new to Powershell but keen to automate some repetitive tasks I have to carry out.

I have 44 spreadsheets, in different shared folders, requiring data to be added to them via a macro in each xlsm.

Is it possible to open a xlsm, run the macro (i would usually do that by mouse-clicking a button on the spreadsheet) and then save and close it once the data has updated?

I have tried to work out the script and am stuck with the password section....I can open the xlsm but it prompts me for the password, i want the script to do that...

$FilePath = "\\server name\folder name\spreadsheet name.xlsm"
    $objExcel = New-Object -ComObject Excel.Application
    $password = "p4ssw0rd"
    $WorkBook = $objExcel.Workbooks.Open($FilePath)

Can anyone please help me with this script please?

Thanks

Tuesday, February 6, 2018 2:42 PM

All replies

• Hi,

Based on my research, you can have a try with the following demo script. For your reference, hope it is helpful to you:
    $filePath = '\\server name\folder name\spreadsheet name.xlsm'
    $password = 'p4ssw0rd'
    $macro = 'macro name'

$excel = New-Object -ComObject Excel.Application
    $workBook = $excel.Workbooks.Open($filePath, 0, 0, 5, $password)
    $workSheet = $workBook.Worksheets.Item(1) # Select the first worksheet
    $excel.Run($macro)
    $workBook.Save()
    $workBook.Close()
    $excel.Quit()

If you need further help, please feel free to let us know.

Best Regards,
    Albert

Please remember to mark the replies as an answers if they help.
    If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com

Wednesday, February 7, 2018 4:42 AM
  • Thanks JRV, there seem to be a lot of different variations to the solution on the internet, i cant decipher which are right/wrong!
    Wednesday, February 7, 2018 12:47 PM