Computer Shuts Down When Playing Games RRS feed

• Question

• I upgraded to Windows 7 last week from Vista. It runs everything very nicely except for my games (World of Warcraft, Half-Life 2), which cause the computer to shut down after about 20 minutes. There's no crashing or freezing. It's as though someone just pulled the power plug. Poof. It's all off.

I'm no expert, but this doesn't strike me as a hardware problem since everything ran so nicely on Vista. But from what I can tell, when this happens, my fan starts spinning really fast and loudly, and my CPU clock indicates a lot of work being done by the processor. This was not a normal occurrence prior to installing 7. Doesn't seem to be a heating issue either. I've had heating problems before. You could feel it. It was very hot to touch. Nothing seems to be overheating this time. It's not hot.

When I hear that fan start spinning, I harbor the illusion that I'll be able to alt+tab back into Windows for a few seconds, and that this will prevent my computer from shutting down. Actually, that seems to work reasonably well; but if I go 15 or 20 minutes without doing this regularly, it happens. I'm thinking of dropping back to Vista, but since my browsing and everything else runs so smoothly on 7, I'd really rather not if it can be avoided.

Any pointers for me?

Saturday, November 21, 2009 8:08 AM

Answers

• Hi,

According to your description. It can be the video card or chipset problem.

I suggest updating BIOS, video card driver and chipset to the latest version.

If it does not work, you can test it in Clean Boot mode.

If the issue persists, you can collect System Information and upload it to the http://skydrive.live.com/ using your Live ID and I will check it:

System Information

============= 

1. Click the Start Button, type "MSINFO32" in the Start Search box and press Enter to start the System Information.