AccountExpires Conversion RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to PowerShell and have attempted converting the accountExpires date. However, when it encounters an accountExpires that is set to 'Never', the report displays 12/31/1600 5:00:00 PM.  I would really like it to display 'Never'.  Any help with this is appreciated.  This is what I have so far:

$StuDate = ((Get-Date).AddDays(-9)).Date 

Get-ADUser -Filter {(sAMAccountName -like "stu_*") -and (whenCreated -gt $StuDate)} -Properties * |
    	Select-Object sn,givenName,sAMAccountName,AccountExpirationDate,manager,department,title,description,employeeType,extensionAttribute15,@{N='departmentNumber';E=

{$_.departmentNumber[0]}} |
    	Sort-Object employeeType,extensionAttribute1

• Edited by Arasnap Thursday, February 1, 2018 5:28 PM
    Thursday, February 1, 2018 3:41 PM

Answers

• Yes.  Accounts that have been set to expire and then changed will show that.

@{n='ExpireDate';n=(if($_.AccountExpirationDate){$_.AccountExpirationDate}else{'NEVER'}}}

on WS2003 and earlier this may not work.

You can also do this:

Search-ADAccount -AccountExpiring -TimeSpan 9.00:00:00 |

Get-ADUser -Properties  givenName,sn,userprincipalname,accountExpirationdate,mail,title,department,manager

\_(ツ)_/

• Marked as answer by Arasnap Thursday, February 1, 2018 8:18 PM
    Thursday, February 1, 2018 8:00 PM

All replies

• That is correct.  A null date will show as that date.  You need to filter out all accounts set to not expire.

When posting code please format and post correctly.  What you have posted is unreadable.

\_(ツ)_/

• Edited by jrv Thursday, February 1, 2018 3:48 PM
    Thursday, February 1, 2018 3:47 PM
  • The report is correct in that it contains all student accounts created within a specific timeframe.  The only problem with the report is the way an accountExpires set to 'Never' displays.
    Thursday, February 1, 2018 4:14 PM
  • Please fix you post so that we can actually read it.