none
Styles Not updating to instance documents from master template RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,
    I have a master styles .dotx file which is attached to all of my .docx instance documents. 'Automatically update document styles’ is ticked.
    I have modified the Table Of Contents (TOC) styles so that there is no white space between each TOC entry – see the first below screen snip.

However, these do not seem to be carried forward into my instance documents for levels 7, 8, and 9 of the TOC – see the second below screen snip.

Does anybody have any ideas?

MCITP:Server Administration|MCTS: Server 2008| MCSE: Server 2003| MCSA + M: Exchange Server 2003| MCP: Windows XP|

Friday, May 22, 2020 12:27 AM

All replies

• From your screenshots, I do not understand your problem. Sorry.

Your first screenshot seems to be showing TOC styles. Your second seems to be showing numbering styles. These are not the same thing.

Charles Kenyon Madison, WI

Friday, May 22, 2020 4:06 AM
  • Hi Keith,

In order to help you better, I need to confirm some information with you:

Do you set up TOC in master document or in the .dotm template file?

If you set up TOC in the .dotm template file but it doesn't work, I suggest you delete the .dotm file (make a backup in advance) and then reopen word (it will automatically generate a new file), I suggest you reset the settings in the new template file.

If you have any update, please fell free to reply.

Best regards

Itch Sun

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they helped. If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

Click here to learn more. Visit the dedicated forum to share, explore and talk to experts about Microsoft Office 2019.                

Friday, May 22, 2020 6:12 AM
  • Since you mention "master document," are you using the master document facility? If that is what you are doing, you should be aware that it isn't safe and make cause serious corruption.