none
Force MSP 2010 to automatically generate a schedule according to what you want RRS feed

• Question

• I have made a Gantt chart/schedule manually. I know that this is the most efficient schedule. But, the one generated by MSP 2010 "automatic scheduling" takes much longer.

In fact, I could not even do the MSP thing correctly. There is one circular dependency that I don't know how to resolve. I am new to MSP and project management, so this is really hard for me.

So, I was wondering if I can do this - Make MSP AUTOMATICALLY generate the schedule which I want, not the one that it makes on its own. I want to make a manual schedule and make it look as if it was automatic.

Thanks.

Sunday, October 28, 2012 8:29 AM

Answers

• MicroManProj --

If your viewer inspects the MPP file, and has even a modest amount of experience with Microsoft Project, you will be busted, my friend.  I hate to tell you this, but I think you ought to stick to your Excel version of the project.  At least you have more expertise with that tool.  Hope this helps.

Dale A. Howard [MVP]
    VP of Educational Services
    msProjectExperts
    http://www.msprojectexperts.com
    http://www.projectserverexperts.com
    "We write the books on Project Server"

• Marked as answer by MicroManProj Monday, October 29, 2012 1:58 AM
    Monday, October 29, 2012 1:02 AM

All replies

• And how do you intend to "tell" Project what you "want", if what it "tells" you is not what you want?

Project is a big calculator. It does what what you tell it to do. It is subservient to you. If you tell it to do a manual representation of a project, it will do so.  If you tell it to compute a schedule "automatically" (based on you giving it durations, tasks, assignments, logic, etc.), it will do it. 

What you see is what you get.  Project does not have a brain to figure out what you want.  It's just a calculator.

--rms www.rmschneider.com

Sunday, October 28, 2012 12:42 PM