Duration Changing with Resource RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone,

I'm quite new to MS Project so I suspect this is a beginner issue but nevertheless... When I input a value into the Resource Field it changes my duration and end date. I took some screen shots so you can see what I mean - http://imgur.com/a/C8oGr

I'm aware I probably shouldn't add a resource named 'Everyone' but it was the quickest way to do what I wanted (plus even if I did change it, this problem would still arise later on when I assign one person to a lot of tasks.

But check out row 8 of the first two images. You can see it has the correct start, end and duration yet when I put in 'Everyone' into the resource field (image 2) it changes the duration and end date.

I had a google and got the suggestion that it was because I had effort driven resources ticked, but that box wasn't ticked at all!

Thanks guys,

CP 

Edit: I asked this question a couple of days ago and a user told me to change it to 'Fixed Duration'. I did this and it fixed it but then my computer crashed and doing it again didn't fix it.

Saturday, March 10, 2012 5:50 AM

Answers

• Hi,

Well, I am now the one who is confused. I never looked at how Project calculated manually scheduled tasks- that in itself is an oddity.

Be aware that the name of the resource absolutely does not modify the calculation rules and that effort driven only comes into play when you add or delete resources from an automatiucally scheduled task, and that fixed duration only plays for automatically scheeduled tasks..

In this case, because of the setting of default end time, a task without resources where you enter an end date (which by all means is not recommended in Project) finishes at 8:00

But a resoruce having to work 4 days on a normal Working calendar finishes the fourth day at 17:00

I'm sure that after this explanation you will still be confused. I can't explain the colors of the rainbow to a blind man.