What are these certificates for? RRS feed

  • Question

  • I see certificates in 2 locations:

    1. Azure Dashboad -> Cloud Services -> My Service -> Certificates   (there're 2 of them)
    2. Settings -> Management Certificates (there're 3 of them under my subscription)

    These 5 certificates have different thumbprints.

    What are they for? And what's the difference?

    And how do I know which certificate is currently actively in use?


    • Edited by smwp8dev Monday, December 31, 2012 7:58 AM
    Monday, December 31, 2012 7:57 AM


  • Azure Dashboad -> Cloud Services -> My Service -> Certificates

    These are the certificates used by your cloud services. For example, if you're running a website in a cloud service which requires SSL certificate, you would upload those certificate there.

    Settings -> Management Certificates

    These are the certificates for managing your subscription using Service Management REST API. In order to authenticate service management REST API calls, you need to authenticate your requests using an X509 certificate. That certificate must be uploaded under management certificates section of the portal. For more information, please see here: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windowsazure/ee460782.aspx

    For a general understanding of certificates in Windows Azure, please see here: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windowsazure/gg981935.aspx

    Hope this helps.


    Monday, December 31, 2012 9:20 AM