locked
Can I stop Update Rollups from downloading to WSUS? RRS feed

  • Question

  • Previous we had Update Rollups configured and now we'd like them gone. Originally the goal was to stop Silverlight but now we want all the Update Rollups to not be present in the WSUS server.

    Here is what I tried based on results O found here via Google: I disabled the classification, ran the cleanup wizard, stopped Update Service, did a deletion of the WSUScontent contents, started the Update service, then did a wsusutil reset. The WSUSContent folder was rebuilt over the weekend and now when I add the view for Update Rollups they are back again.

    What did I do wrong?

    Please let me know. 

    Thank you!



    Wednesday, January 14, 2015 4:19 PM

Answers

  • What did I do wrong?

    You didn't *do* anything wrong, although you did a lot of unnecessary things. The issue here is in misunderstanding what the impact of your changes will be. Deselecting "Update Rollups" from the Product Category list merely prevents FUTURE updates from being synchronized. It does NOT remove current updates. The Server Cleanup Wizard is incapable of that. "Rebuilding" the WSUSContent folder was likely totally unnecessary and really accomplished nothing but burning up a lot of Internet bandwidth to replace exactly the same files that were already there before you deleted them.

    The only option you have for "removing" the existing Update Rollups from your console is to DECLINE them, which will effectively hide them from your "Any Except Declined" view.

    Now, having said that, I'll offer one more thought ... Update Rollups, among other important updates (like IE Upgrade packages), contain the updates for Daylight Savings Time changes. Generally speaking, the number of updates contained in this classification are quite small, so I will say that I'm quite intrigued at the desire to remove this classification from your WSUS server.

    Wednesday, January 14, 2015 8:35 PM
  • It sounds like you are saying once a product classification is synchronized, it is stuck in the WSUS database, and there is no option to prevent that classification from synchronizing in the future.

    Is that accurate?

    No, it's not accurate, and it's not what I said.

    Once an update has been synchronized, it is synchronized. Synchronization is the act of getting NEW updates from Microsoft. Your choices in Products and Classifications determines which NEW updates you get from Microsoft.

    So.. if you don't want to get any more NEW Update Rollups, you uncheck "Update Rollups" and you will get no more NEW Update Rollups. But the ones you already have aren't going anywhere.

    If you don't want to get anymore NEW Windows Vista updates, then you uncheck "Windows Vista" and you will get no more NEW Windows Vista updates. But the ones you already have aren't going anywhere.


    Lawrence Garvin, M.S., MCSA, MCITP:EA, MCDBA
    SolarWinds Head Geek
    Microsoft MVP - Software Packaging, Deployment & Servicing (2005-2014)
    My MVP Profile: http://mvp.microsoft.com/en-us/mvp/Lawrence%20R%20Garvin-32101
    http://www.solarwinds.com/gotmicrosoft
    The views expressed on this post are mine and do not necessarily reflect the views of SolarWinds.

    • Marked as answer by Steven_Lee0510 Tuesday, January 27, 2015 3:52 PM
    Thursday, January 15, 2015 7:31 PM

All replies

  • What did I do wrong?

    You didn't *do* anything wrong, although you did a lot of unnecessary things. The issue here is in misunderstanding what the impact of your changes will be. Deselecting "Update Rollups" from the Product Category list merely prevents FUTURE updates from being synchronized. It does NOT remove current updates. The Server Cleanup Wizard is incapable of that. "Rebuilding" the WSUSContent folder was likely totally unnecessary and really accomplished nothing but burning up a lot of Internet bandwidth to replace exactly the same files that were already there before you deleted them.

    The only option you have for "removing" the existing Update Rollups from your console is to DECLINE them, which will effectively hide them from your "Any Except Declined" view.

    Now, having said that, I'll offer one more thought ... Update Rollups, among other important updates (like IE Upgrade packages), contain the updates for Daylight Savings Time changes. Generally speaking, the number of updates contained in this classification are quite small, so I will say that I'm quite intrigued at the desire to remove this classification from your WSUS server.

    Wednesday, January 14, 2015 8:35 PM
  • So once they are downloaded nothing you can do so they don't come back? Is this true for every product classification?
    Wednesday, January 14, 2015 9:15 PM
  • So once they are downloaded nothing you can do so they don't come back? Is this true for every product classification?
    Once an update has been synchronized, it is synchronized. Synchronization is the act of getting NEW updates from Microsoft. Your choices in Products and Classifications determines which NEW updates you get from Microsoft.

    Lawrence Garvin, M.S., MCSA, MCITP:EA, MCDBA
    SolarWinds Head Geek
    Microsoft MVP - Software Packaging, Deployment & Servicing (2005-2014)
    My MVP Profile: http://mvp.microsoft.com/en-us/mvp/Lawrence%20R%20Garvin-32101
    http://www.solarwinds.com/gotmicrosoft
    The views expressed on this post are mine and do not necessarily reflect the views of SolarWinds.

    Thursday, January 15, 2015 6:28 PM
  • So once they are downloaded nothing you can do so they don't come back? Is this true for every product classification?

    Once an update has been synchronized, it is synchronized. Synchronization is the act of getting NEW updates from Microsoft. Your choices in Products and Classifications determines which NEW updates you get from Microsoft.

    Lawrence Garvin, M.S., MCSA, MCITP:EA, MCDBA
    SolarWinds Head Geek
    Microsoft MVP - Software Packaging, Deployment & Servicing (2005-2014)
    My MVP Profile: http://mvp.microsoft.com/en-us/mvp/Lawrence%20R%20Garvin-32101
    http://www.solarwinds.com/gotmicrosoft
    The views expressed on this post are mine and do not necessarily reflect the views of SolarWinds.

    Thank you, Lawrence.

    It sounds like you are saying once a product classification is synchronized, it is stuck in the WSUS database, and there is no option to prevent that classification from synchronizing in the future.

    Is that accurate?

    Thursday, January 15, 2015 7:00 PM
  • It sounds like you are saying once a product classification is synchronized, it is stuck in the WSUS database, and there is no option to prevent that classification from synchronizing in the future.

    Is that accurate?

    No, it's not accurate, and it's not what I said.

    Once an update has been synchronized, it is synchronized. Synchronization is the act of getting NEW updates from Microsoft. Your choices in Products and Classifications determines which NEW updates you get from Microsoft.

    So.. if you don't want to get any more NEW Update Rollups, you uncheck "Update Rollups" and you will get no more NEW Update Rollups. But the ones you already have aren't going anywhere.

    If you don't want to get anymore NEW Windows Vista updates, then you uncheck "Windows Vista" and you will get no more NEW Windows Vista updates. But the ones you already have aren't going anywhere.


    Lawrence Garvin, M.S., MCSA, MCITP:EA, MCDBA
    SolarWinds Head Geek
    Microsoft MVP - Software Packaging, Deployment & Servicing (2005-2014)
    My MVP Profile: http://mvp.microsoft.com/en-us/mvp/Lawrence%20R%20Garvin-32101
    http://www.solarwinds.com/gotmicrosoft
    The views expressed on this post are mine and do not necessarily reflect the views of SolarWinds.

    • Marked as answer by Steven_Lee0510 Tuesday, January 27, 2015 3:52 PM
    Thursday, January 15, 2015 7:31 PM