Powershell -- The argument is null or empty RRS feed

• Question

• Hello Microsoft Community,

I'm very new to Powershell, but I do have a bit of experience coding.

I'm trying to create a powershell script to onboard users into our AD.

Here's an example of what I'm attempting.

function example{
         $user = read-host -prompt "enter username"

Invoke-Command -ComputerName Server -ScriptBlock {New-ADUser -Name $user}

}

Im getting this error message

Cannot validate argument on parameter 'Name'. The argument is null or empty. Provide an argument that is not null or empty, and then
    try the command again.

I'm assuming the scriptblock command isn't able to reference the variables in this function. I'm wondering what syntax to use call these variables inside scriptblock.

A nudge in the right direction would greatly help.

Thank you

Sunday, June 28, 2020 1:37 AM

All replies

• Use the -ArgumentList parameter in the Invoke-Command. Something like this:

Invoke-Command -ComputerName Server -ScriptBlock {param($u) New-ADUser -Name $u} -ArgumentList $user

--- Rich Matheisen MCSE&I, Exchange Ex-MVP (16 years)

Sunday, June 28, 2020 1:54 AM
  • Thank you for the reply.
    I'm interested in learning the fundamentals of this. If I'm attempting to reference a series of variables into this command would I use the following syntax?

Invoke-Command -ComputerName Server -ScriptBlock {param($u,$g...) New-ADUser -Name $u -GivenName $g} 
    -
    ArgumentList $user,$firstName...

thanks you again

Sunday, June 28, 2020 2:10 AM
  • That'll work but using positional parameters gets awkward when there are lots of parameters.

Try searching the web for something like "pass parameters invoke-command scriptblock" and you'll find there are other ways to do this. You can also use PowerShell's "help about_Remote_Variables".

Here's another way to use a local variable in a remote command:

Invoke-Command -ComputerName Server -ScriptBlock {New-ADUser -Name $using:user}