none
Aggregate all columns in a table RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm pretty much new to Power Query M Code in Excel (although I do have experience with VBA).  I found an article that gives sample code to dynamically 'expand all' columns in a PowerQuery:

https://blog.crossjoin.co.uk/2014/05/21/expanding-all-columns-in-a-table-in-power-query/

However, I would like to modify the ExpandAll() function so it effectively becomes AggregateAll() (using the Sum function as my aggregator).

I tried a few things, but being an M Code novice I'm pretty much shooting in the dark.  I assume I have to modify the line:

ExpandedTable = if CanExpandCurrentColumn then Table.ExpandTableColumn(TableToExpand, ColumnName, ColumnsToExpand, NewColumnNames) else TableToExpand,

I guess I need to replace Table.ExpandTableColumn with Table.AggregateTableColumn()

Can anyone help?

Tuesday, November 20, 2018 8:41 AM

Answers

• try this:

let Source = Table.FromColumns( {{"Fruit","Fruit","Fruit","Meat","Meat"},{3,4,2,9,7}, {6,3,1,8,8}, {7,1,7,7,8}}, {"Category", "Jan-18", "Feb-18", "Mar-18"}), ChType = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"Jan-18", Int64.Type}, {"Feb-18", Int64.Type}, {"Mar-18", Int64.Type}, {"Category", type text}}),

Unpivot = Table.UnpivotOtherColumns(ChType, {"Category"}, "Attribute", "Value"), Group = Table.Group(Unpivot, {"Category", "Attribute"}, {{"Total", each List.Sum([Value]), type number}}), Pivot = Table.Pivot(Group, List.Distinct(Group[Attribute]), "Attribute", "Total", List.Sum) in Pivot

The only reference is your first column "Category". You can have as many months as you want, it will work

Tuesday, November 20, 2018 11:07 AM

All replies

• I am pulling in data from an external source (another Excel file, generated by someone else).  That data has a few 'fixed' columns that are always in place, and then a variable number of columns, which each represent a different month. 

I would like to aggregate the data for each month column.