Bulk change users email addresses RRS feed

• Question

• We are currently going though a rebranding at work and I am looking for a Powershell script I can run to change everyone's exchange default email address to be the new one. I'd like to keep all existing email addresses users have, but add the new one and set it as default. We use Exchange 2010. I'm a relative newbie to Exchange but have a little Powershell knowledge so any assistance will be greatly appreciated.
    Wednesday, March 19, 2014 10:02 AM

Answers

• You might not need to do that depending on your configuration of the Email Address Policies. If you add that new secondary address to the Email Address Policy, set that as REPLY, and then APPLY the policy, it should add it to the users.

If you want to export all of the user's SMTP addresses beforehand to be sure that there are no issues afterwards, you can do that with a simple line:

Get-Mailbox -resultsize unlimited | Select DisplayName, MailboxDatabase, PrimarySMTPAddress, {$_.EmailAddresses} | Export-CSV C:\Temp\MyUsers.csv -notype

Wednesday, March 19, 2014 1:35 PM
  • The application of the policy won't remove any addresses. If the new primary proxy address is different to the old one then the old one will just be demoted to a secondary proxy address.

--- Rich Matheisen MCSE&I, Exchange MVP

Thursday, March 20, 2014 2:20 AM

All replies

• You might not need to do that depending on your configuration of the Email Address Policies. If you add that new secondary address to the Email Address Policy, set that as REPLY, and then APPLY the policy, it should add it to the users.

If you want to export all of the user's SMTP addresses beforehand to be sure that there are no issues afterwards, you can do that with a simple line:

Get-Mailbox -resultsize unlimited | Select DisplayName, MailboxDatabase, PrimarySMTPAddress, {$_.EmailAddresses} | Export-CSV C:\Temp\MyUsers.csv -notype

Wednesday, March 19, 2014 1:35 PM