locked
Modified By - getting updated without saving file RRS feed

  • Question

  • Hi:

     

    We have observed a strange behaviour on "Modified By" column of a document library.

     

    In our scenario; a file has been uploaded in a document library (versioning enabled). Another person opens that file in view mode and closes the file without saving. In some specific case the "Modified By" and "Modified Date" fields are updated by this person/current date-time.

     

    Surprisingly version history indicates only one version and by name of last person/date-time; while "Created By" field still holds the name of person who uploaded file originally.

     

    Pls advice has anyone observed this scenario and what is the solution. Pls note we are on MOSS 2007 RTM.

    Thank you in advance,

    - Deepak

    • Moved by Mike Walsh FIN Wednesday, April 6, 2011 5:54 AM admin q (From:SharePoint - General Question and Answers and Discussion (pre-SharePoint 2010))
    Wednesday, April 6, 2011 5:29 AM

All replies

  • Hi ,

     

    According to your description, I understand a new version is created when you open a file in read mode without editing.

    In order to do further research about this issue, could you please provide more information:

    1, Have you enabled create major and minor (draft) versions.

    2, Have you Required documents to be checked out before they can be edited?

    3, Have you Required content approval for submitted items?

     

    When enabling version, check out a file will create a new version, if you don’t need the new version, you can choose Discard Check Out.

     

    Also, there is good article about How does versioning work in a SharePoint list or library. For more information, please refer to:

    http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/sharepoint-online-enterprise-help/how-does-versioning-work-in-a-sharepoint-list-or-library-HA101972549.aspx?CTT=1

    Please let me know the results at your earliest convenience.

    Best Regards,

    Lisa
    • Marked as answer by Peng Lei Friday, April 15, 2011 8:47 AM
    • Unmarked as answer by Deepak Mehrotra Tuesday, April 19, 2011 4:16 AM
    Thursday, April 14, 2011 5:10 AM
    Moderator
  • Hi Lisa:

    Pls find below response to your queries.

    1. ONLY major versioning is enabled.

    2. Require document to be checked out option is set as "No"

    3. Require content approval for submitted items is also set as "No"

    The behaviour on above settingsstill continues.

    Regards,

    - Deepak

    Tuesday, April 19, 2011 4:21 AM