SMIME for email security: Error- Microsoft outlook cannot sign or encrypt this message because the certificate is not valid RRS feed

• Question

• I have an issue trying to encrypt an email message and sending it to someone. The error which i'm facing is "Microsoft outlook cannot sign or encrypt this message because the certificate is not valid". I've never used this SMIME feature of outlook. Referred few articles and blogs but couldn't get any clue. I've managed to get the user certificate for myself from Comodo which is for free use. Please let me know how to understand and use this feature as i'm new to it. Does the server has to do anything in this process related to SMIME settings..

Friday, June 7, 2013 12:27 PM

Answers

• If you are doing digital signing in Outlook or in OWA, server does not have anything to do with it. Most important is that you first check which certificate your Outlook is using (File->Options->Trust Center->Settings->Email security). Also, you should make sure that email address in certificate is equal to your email address that you use in Outlook. Certificate should have digital signature listed as purpose, should have valid date, and must be able to connect to at least one CRL point. 

Do some of these checks, and post your results here.

Please mark as helpful if you find my contribution useful or as an answer if it does answer your question. That will encourage me - and others - to take time out to help you. Thank you! Damir

• Proposed as answer by damirdMVP Saturday, June 8, 2013 8:16 PM
    • Marked as answer by Zi Feng Tuesday, June 18, 2013 2:16 AM
    Saturday, June 8, 2013 8:16 PM
  • Hi

Could you please provide some information such as Exchange Version?

Also as damird said, Due to server does not have anything to do with it. Please try to ask on Outlook Forum as well and get some help there

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/outlook/threads

Cheers

If you have any feedback on our support, please click here