MOSS 2007 Standalone w/ SQL 2005 Enterprise has a 4GB db limit RRS feed

• Question

• Hi guys,

After a bit of help with MOSS 2007 and SQL. I have limited knowledge when it comes to SharePoint/MOSS & SQL and have had this dropped into my lap to sort. Please bear with me if what I say is a bit basic.

A bit of background information:

I inhertied a MOSS 2007 server which soon hit the 4GB database limit. After doing some research it became apparent had been set up using the "Basic" option using the embedded SQL Express.

After doing some reading, I thought the way to resolve this was to use full-fat SQL 2005 (we have an Enterprise license available). I built a new server, installed SQL 2005 Ent first then installed MOSS 2007 (chose the "Advanced Option" then Standalone server). Thought all was working well until the same complaint of 4GB limit started coming in.

Couple of questions I hope someone might be able to help with:

1) - I now believe that choosing the Standalone server still installs SQL Express. Is this correct? Even if full-fat SQL server is already present?

2) - Is there a way to overcome the 4GB limit with having SQL Ent already installed? All the searching I've done states what the problem is and what causes it, but not how to resolve it.

I have a feeling the answer may be to re-install but use the Advanced Options / Complete install but would be grateful for any advice before I start going down this route.

Thanks in advance,

Lee

Thursday, February 23, 2012 9:51 AM

Answers

All replies

• Hi Lessthanlee,

Thanks for your post.
    When you installed MOSS 2007 using the "Advanced Option" then Standalone server, it will install all components on a single machine (include SQL Server 2005 express edition). And the SQL Server 2005 express edition has a 4G limit.
    So, please use the “Completed” installation in the “Advanced Option”. And then you can specify the SQL Server, Database name and service account.