Windows Server 2008 Max Powershell and WMF Versions RRS feed

• Question

• To who can help me?

I'm new to the wold of Powershell, so please bare with me. I'm wondering what is the max Poweshell version as welll as the WMF for my computer. If I remember, I started off with Powershell version 2.0, and I went to 3.0 to get the help files. Later on, I increased the WMF to 4.5 for other functionality, but it seems that I'm having some update issues that were caused by it.

When I look at my Add or Remove Programs, I can see WMF 3.5 SP1 and 4.5.2. I've did some research and if correct, Windows Server 2008 can do WMF 4.0. Being that the Powershell Version doesn't change from 3.0, maybe that's the max?

As stated:

I'm just wondering what the max Powershell version is for Windows Server 2008? I feel it's 3.0.

What is the max version of WMF that Windows server 2008 can handle?

Any help with greatly be appreciated

Sunday, December 2, 2018 5:38 PM

Answers

All replies

• There are no such WMF versions.  WMF is 2,3,4,5,5.1 and you are calling Net Framework versions WMF.

The latest version of WMF is 5.1.  It will run on all current versions of Windows.

Windows 2008 is not longer a supported or current OS.  You should no be using it.  Only WS2008r2 and later are supported systems.

The last version of WMF released that listed WS2008 as supported was WMF 3.

here is the supported list for WMF 4: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40855

Currently no Microsoft products are supported on WS2008 and there should be no updates released for WS2008.  Some security patches will be available but no testing of WS2008 for security or bugs will be done after a system is out of support.

Also be aware that there are no 32 bit server OSs anymore.  WS2008r2 requires 64 bits as do all newer and future server OSs.

\_(ツ)_/

• Proposed as answer by BOfH-666 Sunday, December 2, 2018 7:09 PM
    Sunday, December 2, 2018 6:19 PM