none
Using FAST for custom metadata and document full text searches at same time RRS feed

• Question

• Please forgive me for the wall of text here, but I think I can reasonably promise that this is a somewhat interesting question around FAST/SharePoint.  Let me know if I'm asking the impossible here, but I'm a bit new to FAST and somewhat new to SharePoint 2010 as well.  I just need a pointer in the right direction concerning FAST/SharePoint and what features I ought to be taking advantage of to accomplish what I have in mind.  I'm finding that it's a rather large product. :)

My customer has an in-house document management system backed by an OLTP database full of data about our customer's documents and there are related entities.  So, to use a simplistic example, we have a Document entity, with a related Contract entity, and a related Customer entity.  The Document entity has an attribute which points to the specific file on the SAN; and that can be a PDF, XLS, etc. 

Now, there are quite a few visibility rules around when to show documents to users, so today when a user executes a search they have some fairly extensive SQL that executes and then they also execute a search in the file server's index service, and then they merge those results back in the application.  Obviously, this takes quite a bit of time for the user, and just generally doesn't work because index server itself isn't what one would hope, and the SQL itself can take too long to execute.

What I would like to do is reduce the above process to a single round trip to a FAST server.  The user would send the query to FAST and then FAST would turn around and just query the search index and the database attributes in question would already be in the index for each document, and it would return the applicable documents.