Process for MDT Reference Images RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to MDT and have had a hard time finding resources to walk me all the way through the process.

From what I've read so far, what I should do is create a reference image with latest updates preinstalled.  I also need to pre-install some of our software which is older software that works with a non-stop system and isn't easy to automate the installation.

Once I have the reference image, my understanding is that I would occasionally update it with any changes that need to be made into a golden image to deploy.  So just starting from the top then - process is: Deploy OS, customize, capture WIM -> as needed deploy captured WIM, update, capture again?

I apologize for my lack of understanding of the process, I feel like if I could get the process sorted out right I'd be in much better shape.

Friday, December 27, 2013 9:55 PM

Answers

• We all have to start somewhere so - Hi and welcome to MDT deployments

Your close - here are the steps:

1) Deploy OS image using Win 8.1 DVD (add full set of source files - when you import into MDT). Add applications that can be deployed via MDT (this will create your reference image)

2) Manually install your apps and custom desktop settings.

3) Capture a .Wim image using MDT Sysprep and capture task sequence, generating a master image to be deployed. The reason you want a master image is because it is very fast and has all your apps already installed.

4) Import the new custom .Wim image into MDT OS.

5) Create a new task sequence that deploys your custom .Wim image (to maintain your custom desktop settings ensure your WSIM (unattend.xml) script has the CopyProfile set to True).