I just inherited WSUS RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to WSUS and was giving the responsibility to get it "up to date" for our organization. It hadn't been updated in a couple of years so I have over 5,000 updates.

My question is, can I delete all these and start from scratch? Tomorrow morning when the wsus server synchronizes, will it pull what is needed or will I end up getting 5,000+ updates?

Thanks

Tuesday, March 26, 2013 7:07 PM

Answers

• Is there a quick way to clear out the superceded updates?

There is a 'perhaps more efficient' way....

Create a Custom Update View.

Enable the Supersedence Flag column.

Enable the Installed/NotApplicable Percentage column.

Sort on the Supersedence Flag and focus on the updates that are superseded.

Select the superseded updates that have 100% Installed/NotApplicable percentages. (Note: Updates that are superseded and are not 100% Installed/NotApplicable are missing from one or more systems and investigation as to why a superseded update is missing would be advised. Typically this is because the newer updates are not approved/installed.

To that point, rather than focus on superseded updates initially, I would focus on getting the NEEDED updates approved and installed (but do not approve superseded updates). It will actually help significantly with simplifying the effort in cleaning up the superseded updates that are not needed anymore. Among other things, it will increase the number of superseded updates that do report 100% Installed/NotApplicable, which will increase the number of superseded updates that you can decline.

Lawrence Garvin, M.S., MCITP:EA, MCDBA, MCSA
    SolarWinds Head Geek
    Microsoft MVP - Software Distribution (2005-2013)
    My MVP Profile: http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/profile/Lawrence.Garvin
    The views expressed on this post are mine and do not necessarily reflect the views of SolarWinds.

• Proposed as answer by antwesor Wednesday, March 27, 2013 2:33 PM