Why No "Sort by Name" Feature? RRS feed

• General discussion

• I'm a software engineer and I've been using Windows since the early years.  I've been a sysadmin and I maintain systems that run for months.  In short, I kind of know what I'm doing.

As I grow older it seems I am having a bit harder time seeing or finding something that's buried in a list.  I imagine it's a part of my brain that's always been a bit weak and is now growing weaker, and it's clearly related to the limits all people have in perceiving multiple items at once.  

In short, an arbitrary text item in a list more than a few items long is hidden in plain sight.

Positional - or at the very least alphabetic - organization is therefore HIGHLY important to me, and I suspect to others as well.

With the Classic start menu in older versions of the OS, for example, one could learn to expect where things would be positionally, and of course one could always right-click and choose "Sort by Name" to get them in order for an easier visual scan.

Now we don't have the ability to right click and choose "Sort by Name".  I don't see it when trying to organize the list of stuff that shows when I hit the Start button, I don't see it when I right click the desktop and choose "New...".  Did someone actually put in extra effort to remove this feature?!

Take the Windows 7 start menu...  Now by default all the stuff you've used recently shows up there.  I guess it's in order of most recently used (or most used?) but in reality it comes off as just a huge jumble!  If you turn off the "Store and display recently opened programs in the Start menu" it just goes blank.  And if you put the task bar and start button on the top of the screen, it goes BIG and blank!