none
Robocopy move complex folder structure from multiple sources to network drive RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I need to solve the following problem and I would like to know if I can to this with Copyrobot, I am asking here, because I have never done anything with Copyrobot before. 

I have one network drive and X computers from which I need to move data to the network drive. The folder structure on PC1 could look like this:

-/root

--/project1

---/name1

----/date0101

-----/file1.x

On PC2 it could look like this:

-/root

--/project1

---/name1

----/date0101

-----/file2.x

--/project2

---/name2

----/date0102

-----/file1.x

Now on the network drive I would like to save the following:

-/root

--/project1

---/name1

----/date0101

-----/file1.x

-----/file2.x

--/project2

---/name2

----/date0102

-----/file1.x

This this possible with CopyRobot ? And if yes, how would I start. Thanks in advance

• Moved by EugeneLeitanMVP Friday, October 28, 2016 6:11 AM it's not about the SCDPM
    • Moved by Bill_Stewart Friday, October 28, 2016 2:43 PM Not a scripting question
    Wednesday, October 26, 2016 6:43 PM

Answers

All replies

• You can use use robocopy to copy from all users' machine to the same destination and it will automatically do what you are requesting as long as you do not use the PURGE parameter.

For example, create a batch file that has this:

robocopy \\PC1\Root \\Server\FileShare </E + options you need>

robocopy \\PC2\Root \\Server\FileShare </E + options you need>

etc

The above will copy everything in root on PC1 to the file share and copy everything from PC2 root to the same share, combining both roots in the destination. Note that if the file exists on both PC1 and PC2, it will be replaced.

Also, robocopy stands for Robust File Copy, not robot copy :)

Wednesday, October 26, 2016 7:20 PM
  • Thank you very much Emmanuel, you really helped me :) I have 2 more question though: