none
Exchange 2013 and S/MIME / ADRMS signing advice

Question

• Hi

I have very little experience with email certificates and would very much like some advice on the below.

Today we use a mailGW to sign emails with S/MIME certificates, when users select to sign an email in their Outlook.

Due to complexity in this system, my boss have asked me to explore the possibility to design a solution where each Exchangeserver have certificates installed,  and that those sign all outgoing emails instead (so the users doesnt have to bother with this anymore).

What I "thought" I had understood, was that S/Mime were implemented on the client-side, but when I read this article, https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dn626158(v=exchg.150).aspx, it states that it is possible to put signing certifiactes in a PKI server instead, but are wondering about:

1) Have I understood it right, that we could have each users certificates (from todays GW) in a PKI store instead, and have the exchange-servers sign emails on behalf of each user when they are sending out emails?

2) or do we have to use one common certifcate for all users, which they have to select from the trustCenter in Outlook?

3) Are there any pro/cons by having the the servers sign emails, instead of a GW?

4) Have anyone a step-by-step guide, other that the above link, how to implement such design?

Thanks in advance,

/Peter

• Edited by Peter_Moe Thursday, December 7, 2017 10:41 AM
    Monday, October 23, 2017 9:45 AM

Answers

• Hi Peter

This is a common issue in companys. I can only recommend NOT using S/Mine end to end enryption or signining. At least not for default. You will run into several support issues that you wont like:

- How you want  forward encrypted e-mails?
    - How you will handle expired certificates from users?
    - What happens to encrypted mails from users that left the Enterprise?
    - Do you have an archive solution? What you will do with encrypted mails in the archive? Usining KRA?