none
You require permission from <your userid> to make changes to this file--Really????? RRS feed

• Question

• I decided to delete some old Windows installations from my machine.  Windows.old, Windows.000, etc.  Easy peasy, right?

Not!!!!  Apparently, I have to give MYSELF permission to delete the folders and files!!!

And, YES--I am an administrator, using an administrator account.  Since I have administrator level access, I should be able to perform administrative functions--right?

Unless I DON"T happen to own the folders and/files--right? Then the administrator level access becomes null and void--right?

Even with the tool that allows one to "TAKE OWNERSHIP" of a folder--it seems as though this will only give ownership at the CURRENT level.  Any subordinate folders remain unchanged.  (You will have to take ownership of every sub-folder, that falls under the folder that you want to delete!  This MIGHT be a bit inconvenient--when you're faced with having to take ownership of 2,000+ folders and files!!!)

I wonder if there is a tool or application that will allow one to TAKE OWNERSHIP, not just of the CURRENT folder--but ALL sub-folders and files that are subordinate to the current folder?

Monday, October 24, 2016 10:42 PM

Answers

All replies

• Have you tried to do [Disk Cleanup] >  [Clean up system files]?

Right-click on "C" drive > Properties > [Disk Cleanup]

and then click [Clean up system files]

• Edited by Ashidacchi Tuesday, October 25, 2016 1:20 AM
    • Proposed as answer by Andy Nuttall Tuesday, October 25, 2016 10:46 AM
    Tuesday, October 25, 2016 1:19 AM
  • I don't think that this would have accomplished my goal of removing traces of old windows' installations.

I have already removed the folders and files that I wanted to remove, basically, folder-by-folder.

I was just looking to see if there were other, more stream-lined method(s) of "taking ownership" of  a folder  that includes (not assumes) its SUB folders--all in ONE shot.