none
Restore SQL 2008 Recovery Point in DPM 2010 to second SQL server via script

Question

• Hello all!

I am attempting to automate the process to restoring a production SQL 2008 DB to a DEV environment, based on its recovery point time. Firstly, I am somewhat new to powershell and am unsure if this is even possible. It needs to restore daily. The script is necessary because the staff is small and management doesn't want to enable end-users to perform their own recoveries. Additionally, they do not want to manually execute the restore process as they want the recovery point to be restored at 3AM. Any input is greatly appreciated. 

Thursday, April 21, 2011 2:02 PM

Answers

• Here it goes....

#                                                                                              
    # This script will allow you to restore the latest SQL recovery point databases from a single  
    # instance to a remote server                                                                  
    #                                                                                              
    # Author        : Wilson Souza                                                                 
    # Date Created  : 6/1/2011                                                                     
    # Last modified : 10/09/2012                                                                   
      $Version      = 1.3
      $ScriptName   = "Restore_SQL_to_Different_Instance"
    #                                                                                              
    # Change log                                                                                   
    # ==========                                                                                   
    #                                                                                              
    #       Ver 1.3 - If SQL Database exists and is in inactive protection, now the script will