none
Change properties in Local Group; e.g. rename group, change description. RRS feed

• Question

• While instantiating a Windows system (server 2012r2) from a virtual image template (Hypervisor, vmWare) that has much software preinstalled, I have a vbScript to reconfigure the instantiated image based on its new computer name; e.g. customer joins it to their domain (changes the machine name).  To minimize the end user's work, the script reconfigures a ~dozen properties, adds some user groups, and so on; the end user only specifies a few parameters to the script. The script is fine except i can't figure out how to rename a few local user groups and change the Group's Description; i need help here.

My first attempt (in simple form) went this way ...

Set sGroup = GetObject( "WinNT://./Administrator, group")
    sGroup.Name = “Gusto”
    'sGroup.Rename = “Gusto”
    'sGroup.FullName = “Gusto”
    sGroup.SetInfo

The script errors (438) upon the sGroup.Name statement; i tried the commented statements too but get the same error.  Then, i referred to the Ms>Docs>ADSI WinNT objects > ... documentation and came up with a documented method ...

sGroup.Put "Name", "Gusto"

The put statement crashed too but with a different error; 8000500F

I believe the Put method is the way to go, however, i think i have to add something like ..    .           

oName = sGroup.Get( "Name")

... and apply this somehow ...  I got this idea from ...

https://gallery.technet.microsoft.com/scriptcenter/10dae29d-5d1d-44d8-9462-4d61f5bb856c

So, i need to rename a few groups and change their Description properties.  Can somebody help me with this?

Thanks,
    GlennXS

Glenn of xSyLent

Monday, July 24, 2017 3:50 AM

Answers

• Nice; it works in the short & sweet form ...

function renGroup(oName, nName)
      renGroup =  false
      Set oComputer = GetObject( "WinNT://.")
      Set sGroup = GetObject( "WinNT://./" & oName & ", group")
      oComputer.MoveHere sGroup.ADsPath, nName